Posted by: allunwound | April 11, 2009

Hello World it’s Me Millie

Well, finally I have worked up the nerve to start a blog.  Not sure what my fear has been, I mean I try to write for my personal enjoyment a few times a week, but something about putting it out there for all the cyber world to read has just thrown me in a tizzy.  But finally, I grabbed the preverbal bull buy the horns and vyuala you have a blog.

So as I stated in the little blurb all about me  I would like this blog to be an exploration of my discoveries in the crafting world.  Mine and my friends, please feel free to post comments and get a discussion going.  I need all the help I can get.

In the crafting world I am mainly focused on knitting at this time.  But I have been known to break out the ‘ole bead box and just throw caution to the wind and let the wackiest things come out.  Most of it doesn’t work out, but I figure one day I will have a piece of wearable art that as I walk down the street women will stand back in admiration, lights will flash and blind me causing me to trip over a small child who is gorging on a chocolate ice cream cone. We’ll tumble to the ground smearing the yummy, sticky goodness all over both of us and my wearable art becomes just another smear in the sidewalk. There are snickers and snorts in the background and I know that people are chortling through there sleeves. At this point I usually jolt out of my day dream and shove all the beads from me in pique and pick of my knitting needles as refuge.

Right now I am working on two vests, one for my Father, and the other for my eldest brother.  Both are late, my fathers birthday was last month and my brothers at the end of this, but I only came up with the idea a week before my fathers birthday so instead of getting a nice little package on his birthday he got bugged at to pick out a yarn we could both live with and me tickling him as I measured every conceivable inch of his torso.  It was rather good fun, and the cute vest he picked out was the exact one my brother picked out so I have the last laugh.

 

vest half way done!

vest half way done!

 

 

I’m sure ya’ll have or have seen it before, where the child swears he/she is nothing like their parents and then they turn around and say or do something that is a mirror image of their parents actions that you just have to smile and nod your head in an “I completely agree” fashion while chuckling all the while on the inside.  Well, that was the exact scenario the day they picked out the vest.  It was priceless;).

I have knitted about 6 inches of my brothers vest and plan on just cranking away until I’ve got a masterpiece.

I just finished a beautiful scarf for my mother that I have nick named “the Cure-All”.  Reasoning is simple enough, I have had a terrible time breaking the life long habit of biting my nails and so when a ravelry group started testing the theory of hypnotic knitting to break your bad habits, I immediatly signed on.  It was marvelous, and the results are I bite my nails less (not completly cured as of yet but still working at it) and the scarf my mother has been asking for all winter.–I’ll post the scarf later tonight after I photograph it–

 

Jeri Sporting the lovely scarf

Jeri Sporting the lovely scarf

 

scarf

scarf

 

 

 

I am also working on a pair of thrummed mittens for a good friend.  They have unlovingly been nicknamed “the Thing”  due to the fact that it calls for knitting in  loose fiber.  The wool is lovely but it gets into everything and matted.  I followed the pattern and when I closed up the top the first time, I was super excited, quickly turned the thing inside out and thrust my hand inside only to be jolted t a stop halfway up my palm.  The darn thing it to short!!!! So now I must frog it AND the thrums back to the thumb so I can evenly space out the decreases and added rows.  Thus as I said it is is unlovingly called “the Thing” by one and all.

 

The Thing is Alive!

The Thing is Alive!

 

the would be finished Thing

the would be finished Thing


Responses

  1. hollah! giving you your first comment. glad to see you in the blogging world! miss you!

  2. It’s great to read your blog! Congratulations on having the courage to but it out there. I am sure you will find it rewarding. Enjoy.

  3. Nice site..now I can see what you are up to in the knitting world. I like the photos of the items too. Good job, Emily/Millie.

  4. Welcome to the world of blogging. I love reading blogs and communicating and sharing with other crafty peeps. It’s fun! and it is also a nice way for my long distant relatives to keep track with me from day to day…

    You are brave to try the thrumbed mitts. They look like TROUBLE! Good luck with them. and I’m looking forward to pics of the gifts 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories