Posted by: allunwound | April 16, 2009

When It’s Springtime in Alaska

This morning I awoke to a wonderland of frost. It was everywhere, like an epidemic breakout.  Granted it was pretty, but here in the ‘ole AK it was nice to think that spring was “springing” into action.

 

Ian's Car in Front of Shop (I was to lazy to take my own pic) ;)

Ian's Car in Front of Shop (I was to lazy to take my own pic) 😉

 

 

I was reminded of that old Jonny Horton song “When it’s springtime in Alaska, it’s 40 below.” – I must not complain to heavily though as it is a gorgeous day otherwise.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In other news, my good friends and I have finally bought the tickets to see “Spamalot” next week and I am jittery with excitement.

spam

 I first fell in love with Monty Pythons Flying Circus and by extension their take on “The Search for the Holy Grail”  and then the next I knew there was a spoof on that spoof calling itself “Spamalot”.  Well I had to find out what was going on here and the moment I downloaded the soundtrack and heard the words “Finland, Finland, Finland that’s the country for me”  I was lost. Completely and utterly smitten I set out to memorize the entire score:

Insert image of Emily as Diva ;)

Insert image of Emily as Diva 😉

 

This is so just in case the Diva came down with oh say the plague I could jump in and keep the whole cast going…in my dreams they osmosasly know that I can A) carry a tune, B) have a great sense of humor and by extension acting skill and C) Have been studying this part for years.  Thus they call me from NYC and beg me, on the preverbal hands and knees, to save them from destruction and disgrace.  What else could I do but graciously agree?  I live in hope…

 

As for knitting I have been studiously working on my brothers vest and ignoring all else.  Just take the pic from last week and add about 5 inches in length and you have the general idea of where I am at.  I am rather upset with Rowan at the moment though as I realized last night that my skeins weren’t matching up in shading.  Every knitter knows that when knitting any project that will require more then one skein of the yarn, you always buy it at the same time making sure that the die lots match in order to avoid this problem.  I like to tell myself that I am a smart knitter and so I did exactly that, I bought 9 skeins of Rowan (my fav yarn co.) Classic Tweed from one of my fav online yarn stores Webs www.yarn.com .  Now I am not great at math, in fact I stink, but even I know that in this equation I should have come up the victor.:

Fav Yarn + Fav Online Store + Smart Shopping = One absolutely fabulous Vest.

Instead I got:

Fav Yarn + Fav Online Store + Smart Shopping = One Substandard Vest 😦

I’ve decided to keep going though in the hopes that after I hand wash it a couple of times and block it my brother will not notice.  — He’s not really the noticing type so I doubt he’ll see it anyway, but for my piece of mind I need to do this.

 

Great Finds

I absolutely love searching out crafters on the internet and one of my fav places to do so is on Etsy so I thought I would include a spot for great stuff each week.  So for my first foray I wanted to share 2 absolutely vundebar stores in Etsy:

Amie Gaines has a an imagination I would kill for and her creatures are so adorable I am making it my life goal to learn to crochet just so I can make them all:      

www.purl.etsy.com

The Wren has just smashing bags made from fabric ends and recycled fabric.  Plus she is helping the women in South Africa find meaningful and paying jobs.

The Wren


Responses

  1. I saw the frost too this morning shining like diamonds in the early morning light. Chilly, but beautiful. I love Etsy too! Great sites.. thanks for sharing 🙂
    We’d thought about going to Spamalot, but with the move and all, it is going to be hard. So I guess not. Have fun with that!

  2. yeah.. we have snow storms this week. and it’s spring break for the kiddos in utah county. suckas!!


Leave a comment

Categories